Tags

, , ,

Should you not listen well to the questions you ask out of nowhere? Only in looking back do you find those crumbs you dropped that marked your way forward.
– Frances Mayes, A Year in the World

These words brought to mind again how things happened in my previous trip to Italy. I had seen a picture of a beautiful church – I know, I seem to have a thing for them – in my colleague’s Italy travel photographs. The image of this “Duomo”, she said it was called, stuck with me for some reason. My colleagues and I had the “Would be nice to visit this place someday” moment and then life went on. Imagine my surprise then when as part of the hiking trip to Amalfi we find this Duomo! No, I had not done any research about the place because we were to be part of this tour the whole time. So, we get to Amalfi, get dropped off our bus outside the piazza where our hotel was, then we lug our suitcases on cobblestone streets to our hotel all along wondering why the bus would not go all the way. It was mini bus too.. It was because the piazza was out side the said Duomo and was a no traffic zone!!! We stayed two days in Amalfi right across from the Duomo di Amalfi..

Off the bus, wowed by the light!It's a really busy area..IMG_4100IMG_4101IMG_4102

My room aka camera..

My room aka camera..

The view from my room!

The view from my room!

The piazza at night..

The piazza at night..

The Duomo di Amalfi in the evening light..IMG_4351

Enough said!

